Amanush Manoos!

I’m not sure if anyone of you have read my article where I had mentioned about Bonojit Hussain. So let me introduce him in a nutshell in this post too. Bonojit, son of Mr. Hyder Hussain – the editor of a very renowned Assamese daily from Guwahati, is now pursuing his Phd in South Korea. But that ain’t make him worthy to be mentioned in this post. It is what he did in South Korea. One day while traveling in a bus, some Korean made some indecent, racial comments on him, against which he lodged a police complaint and led such a protest that finally the South Korean govt. was compelled to pass a special bill to counter such incidents, and he became a “local” hero overnight. Alas! None of we Indians know about him. No wonder! Perhaps Rakhi Sawant’s breakup (?) with what-was-his-name and discussing Shilpa Shetty’s earrings or promoting Rahul Mahajan’s yet another freak-show was more important for the Indian media! Oh what a pity! By the way, I’ve heard Rakhi Sawant’s mother has also entered the arena and I was unlucky enough to get a glimpse of this gorgeous lady on M-TV Stripped! Long live Big Boss!!

Oh! One more thing. I mentioned Guwahati, but forgot to tell you that it is the capital Assam, and Assam is a state of India in the North Eastern region. It is neither a part of China nor that of Nepal or Nagaland, or for that matter, Manipur! Yeah, India is that big. And we speak Assamese there, not Chinese! Also, we don’t hunt street dogs for meal, we don’t eat dog meat, neither snake nor elephant! Yeah, I face these questions often enough and so I want to ‘broadcast’ my answer through this post to all such people out there who might be having these questions. Anyways, that was Bonojit fighting for his right in a foreign country and making history out there and here we are, silently witnessing several such attacks everyday. Well, ‘attack’ is too strong a word for us until we get pestered and pelted, right? Even many of our brothers got beaten black and blue in Australia and we saw no Bonojit Hussains. Strange? Don’t be. We have many Australias even inside our very own, very beloved country, India! What’s the big deal!

Last year after some Naga guys were thrashed by some Marathi speaking guys (with due respect to all other Maharashtrian) in Pune, the Pune edition of Times Of India conducted a poll and almost all North Eastern people staying in Pune conveyed how they have been coping with such incidents, at least verbal abuse, everyday! Yeah, they have to. They have to live in a never ending terror; they have to fear even to speak Hindi in certain occasions, they must be careful not to address anyone as “bhaiya” (brother)! Yeah, they need to learn a lot! Damn we North Eastern people!

Anyway, as they say, I adapt well and I had almost adopted a Marathi-guy-speaking-Hindi kind of accent in Pune as I had adopted a Nepali-guy-speaking-Hindi kind of accent while I was in Sikkim, though I had no fear of any attacks there! Only because I love and respect every culture and I want to be a part of it as much as possible.

Now let me narrate something what I saw in Mumbai on 2nd March 2010. After getting out of the train at 8:15 in the evening, I boarded a bus from Thane to Borivali. I thought there was a seat in the last bench, but it was only after putting my bag in the bunker and the bus had started to roll, I found that there was actually no seat left. I was the only person standing in the bus, but still I didn’t wish to change it for the next bus as I was too exhausted to wait another minute and maybe also deep inside I had this fear of hearing some comments from the conductor/driver for doing so, as I lose the right to protest any such behavior once I come out of Assam. So I decided to wait for my turn to sit until someone gets off! But what was causing me more discomfort was the hospitality of the Mumbaikars sitting in last bench. First I heard a round of laughter and then some comments for being an outsider which I cannot write here in public! But I chose the most intelligent, glorious and practical way of avoiding the situation by walking a couple of steps away from the hooligans and here I am, happily completing a week in Mumbai.

Anyways, as this hot, without-an-A.C, pigeon-hole cyber café has already started to get on my nerves, I must conclude this absolutely rubbish post without making any point, with a confession: I decided to write this garbage because of two reasons – firstly, I had not written anything for my blog for a long time and secondly, I wanted to tell all my fellow ‘foreigners’ that not everyone can become Bonojit Hussain and not every country is South Korea. So if you do not wish to turn our India into Australia, keep quiet and keep yourselves away from the hooligans. That will help you to keep your lovely faces intact and keep our country not as racist as Australia. We love our India!
As sung by the most soothing voice of Amreesh Puri, “London dekha, Paris dekha, Aur dekha Japan, saare jag me kahin nahi hai dusra Hindustan!” 😉

Till the next time, cheers and keep the spirits high!

2 thoughts on “Amanush Manoos!

Leave a Reply

